Skip to content

Weekly Preserving Update and a Misadventure: Drying Sweet Potatoes

August 15, 2010

I tried more dehydrating this week.  This would sort of qualify as one of my preserving mis-adventures. dried sweet potatoes When I tried zucchini chips they turned out great.   I wondered if the same thing would work with sweet potatoes?   I gave it a try.  They dried fine…. but taste terrible as chips.  Kind of chewy and blah.   I’ll just rehydrate them and use them as a veggie for a meal sometime.  :0)

Certainly not a total waste but not exactly what was planned for either.  And so I declare it a semi-mis-adventure.  ( I think I just made that word up)

We are having a fantastic green bean harvest this year.  Last year our green bean harvest was kind of pitiful.  I mentioned finding a cheap source for green beans at (of all places) the peach orchard.  This year? No extra is needed for sure.  The garden is exploding with green beans.  I am about green beaned out!

Weekly Totals

Canning

Green beans – 19 lbs – 14 quarts

Green beans -18 lbs. -16 quarts and 1 pint

Zucchini Relish – six- 1/2 pints and one- 1/4 pint

Beets – 20 lbs  – 10 quarts

Pickled Peppers – 8 pints

Dehydrating

Sweet potatoes – 2 quart jars after dehydrating.

Green beans – almost 1 quart jar after dehydrating.

Freezing

Didn’t freeze a thing!

Share with us!

Have you had a busy week preserving?  Did you try something new this week?  Leave a comment and share.  If you’ve blogged about your preserving go ahead and leave a comment with a link to your post.  I enjoy seeing what others are doing too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    August 16, 2010 8:36 am

    Last week I canned:

    19 pints peaches
    15 quarts applesauce
    24 pints kosher dill pickles
    12 quarts kosher dill pickles
    16 pints of corn

    and made 1 gallon of creamy cucmbers. 🙂

    • August 16, 2010 9:25 am

      Ooo “Creamy Cucumbers” sounds delicious…. I’m off too find a recipe!

Leave a Reply

