Skip to content

My weekly preserving update

August 8, 2010

My week in canning, dehydrating, or freezing.

I plan on posting weekly my preserving adventures…. and misadventures!  Join me and comment about what you have accomplished this week.

canning green beans

Canning Green Beans

This past week the beans came in!  Big time.  I had not really been paying attention to them other than to notice when the weeds were needing to be pulled.  My sons do most of the weeding so I’d just make  note and send them on out.

One day my husband says to me…. we need to get those beans picked.  I sent the boys out 2 days later and they came back with 16 pounds of beans!  I was so glad my husband was paying attention.  It would have been a real drag to let all those beans get overripe. Three days later we got another picking in and they are needing it again!

I also got out and picked most of my beets in my upper garden.  I ended up with 3 big bucket fulls.  42 pounds!   Then the day got busy I got distracted and did not start canning until late in the afternoon.  I was up VERY late! Mostly just waiting for one load to be done so I could get the next load in the pressure canner.

Here are the totals for this week.

Canning

Green Beans – 23 pounds – 25 quarts and 3 pints.
Beets – 42 pounds – 20 quarts

How to dry peppers

dehydrating peppers

Dehydrating

Mild Chili Peppers – 6  pounds (pre-dry weight) Hung some and used my dehydrator for some.
Zucchini – I forgot to weigh these.  Did both zucchini chips and chopped for soups.

Share with us!

Have you had a busy week preserving?  Did you try something new this week?  Leave a comment and share.  If you’ve blogged about your preserving go ahead and leave a comment with a link to your post!

I enjoy seeing what others are doing too.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Joyce Ramirez permalink
    August 12, 2010 10:54 am

    I am delighted to be part of your blog and newsletters. You’re an answer to prayers.

    Right now I have lots of spaghetti squash, do you know of a way to dehydrate or can these?

    I look forward to learning a ton from you.

    Warmest Regards,
    Joyce Ramirez

    • August 12, 2010 2:34 pm

      Joyce I’m so glad you found me.

      The only way I have preserved spaghetti squash is to freeze it. Cook the squash first just as if you are going to serve it. Scrape out the stringy insides and let cool. Place in zip lock freezer bags and freeze. Easy!

      • August 12, 2010 3:20 pm

        I should also add that if you keep them in a cool dark place they stay good for quite some time. I’ve stored them like this also.

  2. August 12, 2010 2:05 pm

    You go girl! Did you pickle any beans as well? I love dilly beans. I did beans as well and they came out great. Did two different kinds of beans. One was a broad bean that I had not done before.
    Keep inspiring us!

    • August 12, 2010 2:37 pm

      Hi Abigail, No I did not make any dilly beans
      yet…it’s on my list. I think I still have a jar or two from last year.

      I did dehydrate some.

Leave a Reply

