Skip to content

How to dry zucchini chips.

August 4, 2010

Last winter my husband surprised me with a new commercial dehydrator.  While traveling he stopped at a Cabelas and they had one marked down.  After a false start when the heating element went out.  (gotta love Cabelas customer service, they returned the machine with no problems) I am enjoying trying out new things.

Zucchini and summer squash chips turned out great.

First find some extra zucchini….  if you have planted a zucchini plant or two this should not be a problem.  Or you may have a friend willing to share.  My friends shared thier extra yellow summer squash with me. I dehydrated both zucchini and yellow squash.  dehydrating zucchini

Next slice the squash into very thin slices.  The thinner the better. About 1/8 inch.  I used my mandolin slicer and it made the job very quick and easy.  The more evenly you can make your slices the more evenly they will dehydrate.

Lay the slices in a single layer on your dehydrator trays.  Sprinkle with seasoning of your choice.  I used season salt.  You’ll have to experiment with how much to use.  I used too much and my chips are a little too salty so next time (there will be a next time) I’ll go a little lighter.

Dry at 125 degrees until dry and crispy.  It took about 5 hours for this batch. Check every so often and remove slices that have finished drying earlier than the others.

Store in an airtight container.

Great for a quick veggie snack.

Works for me.

Leave a Reply

