Skip to content

I left him again. It was harder this time!

November 30, 2009

The oldest graduated basic training. We attended graduation spent 2 short days with him and left him at airborne training. It was WAY harder to leave him this time than even when he went to basic.

Here he is saying goodbye to his littlest brother. In a brotherly sort of way :0) My poor 6 yo sobbed! He just couldn’t understand why his brother couldn’t come home.

Brotherly Love

Love Ya Little Bro

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 5:04 pm

    This brought tears to my eyes, Sharon. Really I don’t know how I would handle it if I had to send a son off to the military, let alone try to make sense of it to a 6 yr. old. I hope everyone is well, and I’m sure it was just as hard for your elder son to leave all of you as it was for you to let him.
    Will your boy be able to be in touch with you through internet chat or video?

    • January 2, 2010 10:32 am

      Thank you so much for your nice comment. Yes, now that he is done with basic training he has a cell phone and we talk often. He was able to come home for the holidays and just left (yet again! I hope this gets easier with practice) to go back to Ft Benning.

      btw, I was just at your site and saw the picture of your little cabin… you are living in my dream home! I love the mountains!

Leave a Reply

