Skip to content

From Homeschool to Army Life

June 14, 2009

My oldest entered the military this morning.  He left for Ft Benning GA.  Change.  Life goes on… doesn’t it?

I was a little emotional this morning. Not too bad I kept busy making breakfast and all.   The big test was when my 6yo son asked me
“how many days will (the 18yo) be gone?’   I had to explain that he will only be
back for visits and that he will be living somewhere else.   That nearly did
me in.  LOL    But I did not cry until just before he left.   And again when he
drove out.

After he was gone I just seemed to calm down and was fine.  Sure I am
worried about him and all but I really do have peace that he will be fine
and will make us proud.  OK I better quit now before I start crying again!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2009 7:17 pm

    Oh Sharon,
    The changes in our family life as the children get older…hmmm. I can fully appreciate you being emotional- but not sure it will just be for one day, one week or even one month.

    Thanks for sharing,

  2. June 16, 2009 7:36 am

    Please tell him I said “thank you for serving.” And I also thank you and yours for bringing up a young man with the desire to serve. We need more like him and like you!

Leave a Reply

