Skip to content

Whole wheat and honey granola recipe

February 22, 2009

Need an evening snack?  I know, I know,  bed time is not the time to be eating…. but….  if I’m gonna do it I might as well make it healthy food.  Need a healthy, economical alternative to chemical filled, sugar junk cereal?  Here is what I do.

Home made granola recipe – super simple.

4 cups old fashioned oatmeal
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup oil
1/2 cup honey
1 T vanilla

Mix oatmeal, flour, and salt in large bowl  (I use my kitchen aid mixer)
Mix oil and honey in microwave safe bowl and heat 30 seconds, add vanilla, stir well
Mix into dry ingredients.

Here is where you have options. you can microwave (how I used to do it) or you can toast it in the oven.  I  like it better toasted in the oven.  Takes a little more time but not really that much more.  I’ll give directions for both.

Microwave – cook 4 minutes, stir, cook 3 minutes, stir, cook 2 minutes, stir.   Microwaves vary so use your judgment on the last cook time.

OR (please don’t do both of these to the same batch!)

In the oven bake on a cookie sheet at 350 for 10 minutes, stir, bake for 5 minutes. stir.   Continue baking stirring every 3-4 minutes or so until the granola starts to brown just a bit.

Now add the add the yummies.  Dates, nuts, raisins, craisins, dried fruits, almonds, sunflower seeds,  the list could go on.

Let me know what you like in granola.   My faves are dates, sunflower seeds, shredded coconut.

About the coconut, if you want this you can add it just before you bake the granola then the coconut will be toasted.

I’ve made this substituting molasses for the honey.  Mmmmmm  gives it a darker taste…. can taste be darker?  I liked it.   My boys prefer the honey.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2009 5:17 pm

    Cool ! I am going to try this one right now!

Trackbacks

  1. Menu Plan Monday : it’s a start! « Simply Sharon
  2. Menu plan Monday and a flexible schedule « Simply Sharon

Leave a Reply

