Skip to content

Entryway organization and storage space

February 5, 2009

As you can imagine with 4 sons and a hardworking husband, lots of stuff comes in and out of our front door.   Coats, jackets, boots, tennis shoes, snow boots, caps, hats, snowgloves, work gloves…all times 5.   Not to mention the dirt and mud.  My entryway is a tough one to keep organized and clean.  

In the past we had a rack with 3 hooks.  Remember, I have 4 sons and a husband.  Do the math.  Not nearly enough hooks.  We also had a bench that opened up and we would stuff everything in there… but in the winter clothes are wet so that didn’t work. It got kinda stinky. No I take that back it got VERY stinky.  Plus it was not nearly big enough for everyones coats.  Inevitably I’d have things draped all over,  spreading into the living room.  Which was really a drag.  I wish I had a before  picture. 

Our solution?  Lockers!  The perfect storage solution.

TA DA!   I’m so excited!   So easy.  School lockers.  We found these used, scrubbed them down, painted them, and brought them in.   Instant organized entry.  One of my sons is even excited to be able to put his school books in his. 

Lockers!
Lockers!

hooks

My talented husband even made us some extra hooks.   See the rack on top.  That is the one we had for years.  You’ll notice that the center hook is missing.  My son broke it off.   The rack my husband created is made out of rebar….. If that one gets broke… well I just don’t think it’ll happen. 

I had to make 2 rules within minutes of bringing the lockers in. 

12 year old son said we could throw ‘extra’ stuff on top.   Nope –  rule #1 NO STUFF ON TOP.  If it won’t fit IN the locker it goes in your room.

13 year old son starts stuffing the 5 year old son into a locker.  Nope – rule # 2.  NO ONE GETS LOCKED IN A LOCKER!  LOL.  (just so ya know, they were both playing at the time, no one was in any danger)

Yep I’m a happy mama.

Works for ME!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2009 2:37 am

    Cool! I would LOVE to have some lockers! (Though I would probably be the first one to start piling stuff on top.)

  2. February 5, 2009 3:56 am

    I *love* the whole locker approach! Way practical!!

    We’ve moved into our smallest house in over 9 years. 9 years ago the house was small but it was *ours* so we were in the middle of building an extension…had 2 huge sheds and PLENTY of storage. I’m finding it quite difficult at the moment in the smaller house.

    but I love the creativity you’ve shown- way to go!

    Susan

  3. Lauren permalink
    February 5, 2009 10:36 am

    What a great idea, Sharon! I love it!

  4. Nadine permalink
    February 5, 2009 3:31 pm

    That looks great! I’ve shyed away from lockers, even though they seem so emminently practical, because the only times I’ve seen them they looked beyond tacky. They looked like they’d been hauled straight from the dump into the living room and then overstuffed and left. I’ve seen this more than once. If I could make lockers look like that, I’d try it!

  5. simplysharon permalink*
    February 6, 2009 12:40 am

    I’m quite certain these are NOT the lastest fashion in home decor…. however my entry often resembled “the dump” prior to getting these.

    I figure when my kids are grown I can get one of those antique hall trees that I love. But for now practical is definately the way of my home.

Leave a Reply

